Sign in to follow this  

Need DRZ SM help quick!

The bike

2006 drz 400 sm

The mod list

3x3

yoshi slip on

-Did the pipe and the 3x3 last night. it runs but not great. jets are not installed. it pops in decel. curious as to what might cause this. pretty sure not being properly tuned.

anyway,

Today I did the jetting on the carb today. with a friend giving some assistance. The problems are as follows

*Throttle sticks and does not return.

*Idle is super high.

jets are 155 main, 22.5, 60.

thanks. This is my first time doing anything to my drz.👍

The bike

2006 drz 400 sm

The mod list

3x3

yoshi slip on

-Did the pipe and the 3x3 last night. it runs but not great. jets are not installed. it pops in decel. curious as to what might cause this. pretty sure not being properly tuned.

anyway,

Today I did the jetting on the carb today. with a friend giving some assistance. The problems are as follows

*Idle is super high.

What jet kit did you get?

*Idle is super high.

Start with: Blame your friend, then smile and hand him a beer.🤣

First, fix the throttle sticking issue. Make sure the slide is in the carb properly and that the cables aren't pinched in a funny angle somewhere. A couple of things:

1) There's a "fluorocarbon grease" for the slide. if you can get some, use it. Sparingly. It helps more than you'd think.

2) A high idle after working on a carb (assuming the slide returns to the idle position) tends to be a geometry problem in the carb (slide plate upside down or some other kind of misalignment), or an air leak from a boot or the slide cover. It can also be that the new pilot jet is too small. What size did you have in there before?

What to look at depends on how far apart you took apart the carb.

Start with: Blame your friend, then smile and hand him a beer. 👍

First, fix the throttle sticking issue. Make sure the slide is in the carb properly and that the cables aren't pinched in a funny angle somewhere. A couple of things: