Sign in to follow this  

fmf fatty or Gnarly?

well im going to buy new pipes. im going with the fmf shorty. but im stuck on the fatty or Gnarly. my bike is all stock and geared 13/51 so it has good lowend. and its fast. but i dont want the gnarly and kill the topend.i dont really care about topend because i ride trails and never get passed 4th gear. i loves me some lowend! if i buy the gnarly and shorty will it kill my speed?. i dont wanna open it wide open and go about 30 mph:ride: lol. this is my first bike so im new to everything so im a nub:bonk:

but thanks for reading:thumbsup:

Edited by Elementx665

IMO the gnarly, thicker guage steel, perfect for trails. The shorty is more for track, they make turbine cores etc, spark arrestors, just in case a ranger just so happens to test your bike... And takes no power away

Instead of making a new thread i figured i would post here.🤣. I am also stuck between two pipes. The fatty and SST and im gonna get a FMF shorty as well. im looking to gain more topend but my mid range is beast so i dont want to kill that. which one?🤣

thanks for your opinion 👍

For the '02 KX250, the stock pipe really is pretty damn good. It has the best overall spread of power in my opinion.

The Gnarly will enhance the low-end slightly, it's not a dramatic difference but it is noticeable. And it doesn't really kill top-end power, because there isn't really any top-end power from this engine, it's all midrange. But the engine will quit revving more abruptly once past the power peak with the Gnarly rather than getting a few extra revs to avoid a shift.

The Fatty will improve the midrange slightly with no loss up top, but it will soften the low-end somewhat. Not a big deal, but it does make for a little more clutch work in tight slow-speed sections.