Sign in to follow this  

Why a Sport Touring?

Since no one has addressed this section of the forum I'll add my opinion and then you can either agree or disagree as you see fit...

I chose the BMW F800ST as my last and final street bike. I've been riding a variety of styles of street bike since 1977....yeh, almost since the invention of pavement.

There are always the trade-offs between comfort / performance / style / reliability among the many manufacturers. Whether you choose U.S. made, or the japanese versions or the german or french products....seems like I've tried all of them except Ducatti....nice stuff, just not my style.

The F800ST comes with the features I enjoy in most any street bike;

light weight for flickability in traffic and twisties

plenty of torque as well as good top end

great looks

As well as some of the things that were lacking from the Harleys /Kawi / suzuki / yamaha

heated grips

factory lowered suspension 2"

outstanding warranty lifetime free towing

excellent fit and finish

Brembo brakes and steel braided lines

ABS

Onboard computer

comfortable riding position

Kind of a sport bike for old people I would guess. I can hang with the 600's going up the river and still cruise the freeway in comfort. Plus I get anywhere from 54 to 63 miles per gallon depending on where or how hard I ride...not bad.

I use it as a commuter and for weekend pleasure, since I have no shiney stuff to worry about I ride it 6 days a week, year round. The only thing I've added are aftermarket footpegs and control levers, and new tires just last week, at 7,000 miles, the stock front and rear were ready to be replaced.

800ST.jpg?t=1275888182

new015.jpg?t=1275888232

IMG_0058.jpg?t=1275888371

bike3.jpg?t=1275888412