Sign in to follow this  

WR250f throttle stop mod.....

Hello fellow thumpers. I am relatively new to dirtbiking. I've ridden when I was a lot younger and now I'm slowly getting back into it. I recently upgraded to a WR250f and deciding what mods I want to do to it. I did the grey wire mod already. Now deciding if I want to do the throttle stop mod or not. I'm not all that technical so can some one explain to me what the throttle stop mod does in "lay" terms. From what i've read the throttle stop is set to 3/4 only but doing this mod opens it up fully. Now forgive me for my lack of understanding, does this mean that when you turn your actual throttle, with out the mod, it only makes a 3/4 turn thus reducing approximately 1/4 of untapped power (because you can't literally turn your throttle more) or does it mean that the air from the throttle screw is restricted to only 3/4 capacity.

Bottom line is this, does this mod increase top speed or torque or both at low end or high end? Thanks.

I believe it limits the range of the throttle slide. It does make quite a difference.

Also you should do the grey wire mod which doesn't restrict timing in the lower gears. Also if you have an off idle bog, you may need to change your leak jet and do the o-ring mod.

There are lots of threads on all of these things. It makes the wr almost like the yz with wide ratio tranny!

With the WR throttle stop screw your throttle is limited to 2/3 opening, period.

The twist throttle won't turn past that much because the screw stops it (in the carburator).

The mod definately increases top speed and torque at high end RPMS....

I felt it was the best mod one could do to the bike.

thanks. That is the answer I was looking for. I've cut the grey wire already. Your answer I think has convinced me to change the throttle stop. Do I need to adjust anything on my bike after this mod? Thanks.