I think I broke my XR500R? HELP!

So my supertrapp muffler fell apart while ridein and I had to gather it while dodging traffic. Went home and put the muffler back together. Did not want it coming apart so got it together nice and tight! Well, I started it and it was much quieter. Drove around the block and it was running sweet. Then I got in the throttle. I heard "CRACK CRACK CRACK" coming out of the front of the motor. I let off and it continued to run fine. I tryed it once more. "CRACK CRACK CRACK CRACK". OH NO! I thought. So I drove slowly back home. Just as I got to the driveway it died. So I tryed to restart it- There is absolutely not compression! NONE! What have I done????????🙂

I am real sure that I did not loose anything down the exhaust pipe. But you never know. I have pulled the motor (6 hours) and it is sitting on my work bench. (little scary as I have never worked on or pull any kind of motor before). Next step = pull the valve cover. Thank goodness for shop manuals. Expensive! But really walks you step by step....

Try hitting a solid area on the head with a rubber mallet to get it to break free. Or lightly pry on a solid spot. Keep workin it, it will break free.......One question, why did you pull the entire engine before you even know what's wrong with it? I mean, what if it's something as simple as an exhaust leak at the header gasket? Even if it's a burnt valve or something like that, there's no need to pull the engine from the frame. You wasted 6 hours for nothing in my opinion.

..<snip>... You wasted 6 hours for nothing in my opinion.

not at all. If it's taken 6 hours then it's a sign he's new to this. That's how you learn. It'll be faster next time! good luck...