09 cold start issues

I need some help !:

Brand new RM 450 09 with 15 hours now

Oil changed every 5 hrs, clean filter each ride, valves in spec

Recently the bike started to develop some cold engine starting issues

After 5-6 attempts, it finally fires up.. to stall few seconds after

does that 2 or 3 times and then it's on.

When the engine is warm, it's a 1-3 kicks deal so nothing to complain here

Tried w/wo choke, doesn't make any difference

if the choke is on, when she's finally firing up, it takes several seconds for the engine to get to the higher idling speed

Engine running perfectly fine after that, no bog, no stalling, smooth as butter

I put a brand new plug (OEM, $$$) yesterday and same story this morning

First Yellow bike after many KTM, I hope I didn't get a lemon.🙂

Edited by mxstate

Im new to the Rmz also. Just got one 35 hours on it. Oem spark plug is cheap, 7.35, But with the starting do you have the Idle set high enough. Mine had the same problem until I set the idle. Well if its a lemon you have the right color,lol. I am selling my KTM now for the Yellow monster.

lol I would not complain about 5-6 kicks,

If Im feeling lazy it'll take me 7-8 kicks....

If I actually kick the s.o.b I'll get it in 3-4 kicks

They're dirtbikes.......... everything doesn't exactly go "smooth" with them.

5-6 kicks sounds perfectly fine.

edit: missed the part about it dying after the first 2-3 starts lol

still I wouldn't get concerned about it. Maybe you put in too much air filter oil ? theres a lot of variables, as long as the sucker rips I consider myself myserlf: )

I agree it's not always smooth with dirt bikes but I never had this problems with my 250 SXF.

I have seen others RMZ and they usually start fine when cold

what really bothers me is that it stalls a couple of times then runs