bike getting tired?

how do u all feel on the topic of older bikes...i mean if u race/ride mx, doesnt it take it's toll on the bike...i'm still rocking my 05 yz250, replaced all the chassis bearings, redid the engine, redid the susp. but i still don't get that new/newer feeling out of the bike. is it from constant frame flex? is it just time to get a new bike? any thoughts?

If you have freshened everything up then it is in your head. I bought an 02 YZ125 to use as a practice bike this year, the thing was whipped. I went through the engine, suspension, and all chassis bearings and now it feels just like all of the bikes I have bought new from the dealer. I've been hammering it for a few months now and it still feels fresh. I love the reaction people on new 450's get at the track when they get smoked by an 8 year old 125 🙂

The secret is to replace things as they need replacing. Then the bike never needs the "rebuild" Its easy to buy wheel bearings, but expensive when you need bearings, cables, perch's, tires, chains, sprickets, etc.

My 06 has been ridden on every possible weekend since Ii bought it. Its in much better condition than a new bike, and woudl look fine on a showroom floor.

Its way over maintained, for sure. This never works well for resale as the bike would only new a few hundred extra over a normal bike. However, it does avoid that "I need a new bike" feeling.

The secret is to replace things as they need replacing. Then the bike never needs the "rebuild" Its easy to buy wheel bearings, but expensive when you need bearings, cables, perch's, tires, chains, sprickets, etc.

My 06 has been ridden on every possible weekend since Ii bought it. Its in much better condition than a new bike, and woudl look fine on a showroom floor.

Its way over maintained, for sure. This never works well for resale as the bike would only new a few hundred extra over a normal bike. However, it does avoid that "I need a new bike" feeling.