Should I even bother?

I've been riding my 03 CR250 that I believe has been tuned for a heavier rider. I've been riding this bike 90% trails 10% track for 3 years so i've just gotten used to the stiffer setup.

I am a major greenhorn when it comes to suspension but isn't there a certain kind of maintenance for suspension in general? I'm planning on takin my suspension to the shop but I have no idea what i'm looking for or what to ask. Do I need to get it redone for my weight or just fresh oil etc??

A quick note: When I sit on the bike, the rear goes way down and forks don't move at all. (I weigh 135lbs)

If the rear goes way down, it's most likely because the shock needs a rebuild. So, ask for a rebuild of the fork and shock. Don't be surprised if the parts bill really adds up. You're probably going to need fork seals and wipers, and the upper and lower bushings. The shock will probably need a piston ring, seal, bladder, guide bushing and hope that the inside of the body isn't worn out. Once all that is done, if you still have some money in your pocket, ask them to install the proper springs for your weight. Your bike will be much more enjoyable to ride once you have springs that are rated for your weight.

Maybe a different bike might be in store for you ... Many deals on craigslist n the recent past do to the economy ...

UR lighter than me so not sure why the rear might be so weak ... maybe you can try setting the sag and see how that goes ... If it is blown ... too bad ... see ebay link below ๐Ÿ™‚ .... Does it leak or anything? Any noises coming from it when riding?

Then a quick look at the oil in the forks ... Both these changes are low cost and not too big an issue to perform ...

Ebay shocks:

http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?_nkw=cr250%20shock&_dmpt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&_fln=1&_ssov=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m282&Model%2520Year=2004|2003|2002

Maybe a different bike might be in store for you ... Many deals on craigslist n the recent past do to the economy ...