Possibly buying an 03 YZ250

Hey everyone! I have the opportunity to buy a 2003 YZ250 for $1200.00. I know next to nothing about YZ's, I've been riding Kawasaki KX 250's for the last seven years so I'm not new to the world of 2-stroke and do all of my own wrench work as well.

Can you all tell me if the 03 was a decent bike? what was bad or good about them, are there certain things I should look for or be aware of when I go to look at it, will it loft the front end in most gears? What is the normal range for engine compression?

Can you give me an idea of the maintenance needs of a YZ (outside of the normal bearing greasing, etc.)

I normally ride Walker Valley, a combination of tight, twisty, root & mud filled trails to basketball sized river rock to quaded out 2 track and that's just in the parking lot:lol:

Any information is appreciated 🙂

O40R

Only problem I have had with my 03 YZ250 has been the kick starter shaft breaking. I switch everything over to an 01 solid shaft and have had no prolems since. They are a great bike.

I have a 2003 and it has been awesome. My previous bike was a 2005 KTM 450SX. It works great, I added flywheel weight to mellow it out a little bit (11oz) and ride 99% woods. $1200 is hard to beat, even if it needs a top end and some massaging. Bullet proof bike.

Only problem I have had with my 03 YZ250 has been the kick starter shaft breaking. I switch everything over to an 01 solid shaft and have had no prolems since. They are a great bike.

How did you switch it to an 01 shaft?

Sorry for the hijack, there great bikes by the way

$1200 is a great deal if its in good shape. I just picked up a 02 YZ250 so here is what i would look for as i had to repair after inspection on mine.

Water pump shaft, seals, bearing. Check the oil for color, mine was tan had water mixed in it. Don't short cut, if needed get shaft, seals, gaskets and bearing cost me around $100.

Fork seals, new seals and sliders cost me around $70.