First 4 stroke purchase, need some opinions

Hey guys, new to the forum this is my first post. I come from roadracing and had a major injury to my left hand thats preventing me from continuing to roadrace this season, so I'm going to be doing MX for the rest of this year to keep up my fitness and maybe get back to roadracing next season. MX is a hell of a lot cheaper and its just as fun.

I have a 2001 KX125, which is a good beginner bike and I'm for sure going to keep it as a backup, but I'm anxious to get into a 4 stroke. Its hard for me to use the clutch due to my hand and you've always gotta keep that 2 stroke at a boil. I'm so use to using the clutch coming out of corners, I get drained super quick and can't even do a fast lap! I'm hoping with a 4 stroke, it will be a bit better.

I rode a 2006 YZF250 on the trails recently and really dug the power band. I've had some previous 4 stroke experience with a CRF250 but that was long ago and I hardly remember it. The Yamaha seems like a nice bike, but from reading reviews of the time period, it seems like the honda always seems to win, even with its unstable front end my roommate always use to complain about.

I recently stumbled upon a few very nice 2008-2009 RMZ250's some ex-race bikes, some just practice bikes for $2600 - $3000 bux. I'm a pretty good mechanic, I'd just re-build anything I got, no problem. I read the 08 suzuki is one of the better bikes out their.

I'd just like to know some of your guys thoughts before I go and spend money I don't have. As much as I love the simplicity of a 2 stroke, its just become a bear to ride and I must continue riding or I'll just gain 50lb's and become an alcoholic! LOL ­čśĆ

thanks!