BRC's Click and send letter OHV FUND!

If you don't want to write your own, here is a great cut/paste/send letter put together by BRC

trails@state.co.us

Dear Mr. Winstanley and members of the Parks Board;

I am a resident of Colorado, and I own vehicles registered under the Colorado Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) Program.

As a participant in the OHV program I have a vested interest in how the OHV Program is administered. I have read emails obtained by the Colorado Off Highway Vehicle Coalition, and I urge you delay making any changes to the OHV Subcommittee at this time.

I urge the Parks Board to review the emails and determine if any inappropriate or improper relationships exist between Laurie Mathews and Jim Prybil and the Colorado Mountain Club and/or the lobbyist for Responsible Trails America (Scott Chase).

Regarding the proposed changes to the OHV Subcommittee I would like the Parks Board to consider the following comments:

It is NOT correct to say that “everyone should have a say in how OHV grants are managed.”

Everyone has a say in where we can ride our OHVs. That is via the federal land management planning process. This is an open and public process, with full opportunity for the Colorado Mountain Club and their representatives, as well as any other citizen or citizens group to review and comment on the development of Travel Management Plans. The federal land planning process gives full opportunity to review the environmental analysis and even appeal any decisions made.

Everyone does not have a say in how the OHV program funds are spent. The Parks Board is required to implement the program in a way that is consistent with the legislation that established the program. The OHV grant Subcommittee was established so that those paying the fee may have a say in how the funds are spent.