'01 YZ250F Starting Issues, Need Advice!

Hey all,

My first post here. As stated in the title, I have a 2001 YZ250F. I am not a very experienced mechanic, so I have very little knowledge. All I can tell you is what I'm experiencing with my bike.

So, to begin with, the bike does run, and it runs good. Getting it started is the problem... this could be simple, but I don't know, which is why I'm asking. In order to get the bike started, it seems like it requires way too much fuel in the carb. I have to twist the throttle 15-20 times before it will fire. Also, it only starts when it is kicked at TDC, or the point where it's hardest to kick, which is where you want to avoid kicking it, right? Well, I have to in order for it to start. I have broken 2 kick levers because of this.

Also, the bike smokes where the header connects to the engine like there is oil leaking there or something. Not sure where from...

Any pointers and advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Check the valve clearances

TRy a new (not just clean) pilot jet

Ensure the choke actually fuly opens - sometime the detent fails and the choke only stays out part way.

Make sure the hot start is working properly

What color is the smoke - That is not good. You need to throughtly clean the area and inspect for leaks.

Check the valve clearances

TRy a new (not just clean) pilot jet

Ensure the choke actually fuly opens - sometime the detent fails and the choke only stays out part way.

Make sure the hot start is working properly

What color is the smoke - That is not good. You need to throughtly clean the area and inspect for leaks.

Rejetting sounds like a good plan to help with the fueling issue. I'm pretty sure my choke is working properly.