2011 CRF450R - Not impressed

I have raced and owned a CRF450, every model from 2002 - 2008. I get a new bike every year but to find a new 08 is impossible. I have tested the 2010 honda and really didn't care for the feel of it. I need to replace my 08. Seeing the lack of changes for the 2011 CRF450 I think I will try either the 2011 yamaha or the kawi? Has anyone tried either? I ony race motocross, I'm a Vet Expert rider.

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

kawaski gave up some of there bottom hit yamaha has a hard hit off the bottom this works better for riders that ride 1 gear higher .the hondas works a lot better when the engine is built and has more power down low but is still smooth .i have heard the kaw works great right from the crate.

the hondas works a lot better when the engine is built and has more power down low but is still smooth .i have heard the kaw works great right from the crate.

i agree, they have terrible power delivery imo,they have a quick bark but no bite! i rode a friends bike with vortex ignition,high comp piston,doma exhaust billet cam and mild port work and it was unreal it felt like a tractor up to half throttle then a bullet after that it was a joy to ride even on slippery hard pack.

Yep, too bad they are made of crap and fall apart, at least the '09/10's I've seen.

Um didn't your tranny just let go in your CRF???

I really don't know how you could not be impressed with the 09/10/11 CRF after riding an 08 or older model. The 09 feels so light and agile its like no other 450. I guess if you want a new bike like the 08 CRF you could buy a KXF which weighs like 20 lbs more than the new crf...😏

Um didn't your tranny just let go in your CRF???

😏

Yep, sure did! I had a hand in some of that though, can't say as I "babied" it.

Doesn't take away what I've seen on the Kawi's, at least locally. For the record I love the kawi motor, still feels a bit big and heavy for my taste though.

😏