2007 wr250f

I am new to thumpertalk and have read several threads about free mods.

I have a 2007 WR250F and want to improve the get up! It is stock.

Does the 2007 throttle stop need to be shorter?

Should I remove the ASI and where do I get a kit?

Disconecting the grey wire behind the rear left number plate?

Remove the can baffel?

Sut the air box lid and remove snorkels?

I have seen a lot about these "free Mods" and want to get my bike up and running to its potential. I am not sure about the 2007 as most of what I have read has been 06 and older.

Any and all thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

"Ride Safe" 😏:ride:

Does the 2007 throttle stop need to be shorter?

Yes.

Should I remove the ASI and where do I get a kit?

Yes.

I have a 2009 WR-250F (practically the same bike as your 2007 model), and I used the Yamaha GTY-R AIS removal kit shown in their accessory catalogue.

You can order the kit through any Yamaha motorcycle dealer, either in a real brick-and-mortar store talking with somebody behind the counter, or on an Internet Yamaha parts retailer.

Although removing the AIS parts is good because it rids the bike of some useless EPA crap that only gets in your way, the real benefit of this kit is that it comes with a shorter throttle stop screw, a jet kit, and instructions to perform the other "free mods" you're wondering about.

Disconecting the grey wire behind the rear left number plate?

Yes.

See above.

Remove the can baffel?

Yes, but only the tiny insert that's riveted in place.

This is also shown in the GYT-R AIS removal kit instructions.

If you remove the bolted-in spark arrester, the bike will get pretty loud.

My opinion is that although removing this tiny insert from the stock muffler helps a lot, the stock muffler is still too plugged-up if you're looking for power (even if you perform a popular backyard mod of drilling-out the rear baffle wall inside the muffler).