CRF 250R Engine shot at 72 hours

My dad bought me a brand new 2007 Honda CRF 250R back in 08'. I have 72 hours on the bike. The first 55-60 hours I was a beginner C rider and only the last 10 hours was I a B rider and really rode the bike hard and aggressive. Sure enough at 72 hours, the bike stalls and the kick starter locks up. We bring it in to our local shop and they found brass pieces in the engine and I lost both the top and bottom end. The have to re-metal the cylinder because its all scratched up, replace the valves because they are black and basically build a new engine. (those are just 2 of the things they have to do)

Has anyone else experienced loosing a Honda engine with so little hours? and is it worth keeping the bike or will my best bet be to sell the bike right away?

I heard that Honda's were temperamental and once something goes wrong its bad, and I will most likely run into more problems down the road.

My biggest question is, once this engine is fixed, will I run into more problems and cost me more money, when I could just buy a brand new bike now?

Thanks For All Your Help,

Josh

I just replaced my top/bottom end 2wks ago. Minus the replacing the cylinder

You should be at about $800 If you do it yourself. It isnt that difficult. Plus what ever a new cylinder sleeve cost you.

It is def. cheaper to go this way opposed to a new bike. You get new performance jitters when you fire it up!!!!

Alright. But, this shouldn't happen to a brand new bike at only 72 hours, When I am not a pro rider. Only the last 10 hours was I a B rider. If that statement is true, wont I fall into new problems down the road? and the bike being a 2007 model, does that change anything?

We had a similar meltdown in an 09 at around 30hrs.

It seams the crank should be serviced or replaced at around 40-45 hrs to be safe.