Installing MRD/SSW and 3x3/JD Jet kit. Few questions

My MRD/SSW is coming in the mail today and I'm going to go install it right after work.

Questions relating to exhaust:

Will I need to remove anything besides side plastics? Do I need to wait until motor cools down before installing? What size socket does the stock header gasket take?

Questions relating to JD/3x3:

How long would you guess it would take a total noob to disassemble/cut 3x3/rejet? Just need an estimate because I'm deciding if I have time tonight.

These are correct specs for 0-1000 elevation with stock motor/3x3/MRDSSW correct:?

160 main jet

blue needle 4th clip

fuel screw out 2.5 turns

stock 22.5 pilot jet with the extended screw.

Thanks

A cool engine will save your hands from burns!

The seat needs to come off to get the side panels off, and I'd remove the tank, also. If you do the carb at the same time the tank must come off.

If you're a little green around your bike I would budget at least 2 hours to install the exhaust and jet kit. It can be a bit of a pain to remove and reinstall the carb, and it can take a little time to line up the exhaust to eliminate any clearance issues.

Your jetting specs look good to me.

Good luck!

hey pt, thanks for the help again. What size bit do I need to take out the plug for the extended fuel screw? Does it just pop out? I'm still a little confused about this.

Also, do I need to know anything before removing the tank? Do I leave any lines connected?

Thanks,

Jere

My plug was already removed so I don't know the exact size to use, but just choose a size large enough (3/32" or so) to thread a small wood screw into the hole to grab onto with pliers and yank it out. I've heard it often comes out while drilling, also.

When removing the tank, pull the lines from the fuel cock and leave them connected to the carb. That's how I do it, anyway.