which 450

i'm looking into getting a bike, and my price range is going to be around $2500. I've always heard better things about the hondas and yamahas so i think thats where i want to go. the bikes i've found are 2002-2006 bikes in my price range. What do you guys think about the difference between the aluminum frame vs. steel on the yamahas? and what are the best years of these bikes to get? i've seen some ktm's and suzukis but i have no experience with them and so i'm wary of those two brands, maybe someone could enlighten me though. btw i'm 19 6'1" and 155 lbs

Riders like both bikes - steel and aluminum; often for different reason (including looks), and often because of some feature that they feel makes the bike easier to ride. That doesn't mean that the aluminum frame is better than a steel frame. In some cases (like abrasion resistance and not stripping threads when you forget to use a torque wrench), a steel frame is far superior to an aluminum one. However, the newer bikes generally have "improvements" to handling, but not necessarily power. The '06 Yammy was a very good year, and I'd take that bike over pretty much anything else that you listed, with the '03 being a close second.

The other bikes that you mentioned are fine machines as well, and just as competitive. KTMs tend to be a bit more expensive, and some dealers don't have good access to repair parts, so keep that in mind. Suzuki's are about as common as Hondas and Yamahas, so unless you don't have a local dealer, I wouldn't worry about getting a yellow bike over getting a blue bike.