Fuel injection VS. Sea level??

Ok just got back from a trip at hatfield mccoy and on the trails ran over some kind of metal and shredded the sidewall to my brand new front tire>>> anyway where this is going, i go to the tire shop and start bsn with the owner of the shop and he says... no way he would ever buy a fuel injected bike!! He says that different elevations really mess with the bike like blowing things up!?! now im kinda new to the riding/fixing scene but didnt sound like any truth? Anyone have anything they have heard of or had happen to them especially the 450X cause im about to buy one but he scared the bejesus out of me and now im having second thoughts. Please help!!

My Rancher is an 07 with fuel injection, so it has seen a lot of hours. This machine has been ridden everywhere from BELOW sea level to 12,000 feet, and the FI is absolutely trouble free and performs fabulously! Our typical ride in the Sierra, goes from 4,000' in the valley to over 10,000'....all in one day's ride.

I will most likely never purchase another carburated dinosaur ever again!

Edited by reconranger

You haven't heard of any late model cars with EFI blowing up when driven at varying elevations have you? EFI compensates for altitude variations for you to keep the fuel mixture in a predetermined range and your vehicle/ATV running efficiently.

And besides, realistically how much real altitude variation do you actually have to deal with??? I know back east you think of a couple thousand feet of altitude change as a "mountain" (for the record, I grew up in WVa), but that is just a "hill" out here in the west.....

Edited by reconranger

Reconranger very funny cause never road out west and west virginia does feel like real mountains!! Ha Ha! Guess im missin out?

You easterners have some great property out there, but recon is right it's a little harder on internal combustion engines out here.

Pulled this from: http://www.usacracing.com/ppihc/about/overview