Questions about XR200r!

Remove all Advertisements

I have a couple technical questions I need help with. I'm looking for some very descriptive replies. I apologize beforehand if some of these questions have been asked before, I'm just new to Thumpertalk. =)

Alright, So today I bought a pretty mint 1983 XR200r. $500 bucks I'd say is pretty cheap. It's got a 240 stroker kit in it. The frame is powder-coated white and most of the plastics have been replaced by new ones. The gas tank is origonal and the bike runs great with the super-trapp. It clearly needs the valves adjusted because theres a slight knocking while riding.

1. Am I going to run into major problems down the road with this 240 stroker motor? or can I coount on it being reliable. I'm not jumping it or beating the thing to shit, just riding around on the private roads in my neighborhood.

2. Is this bike easy to convert into an enduro?

3. What steps must i take to make it street legal?

I want to make it street legal and use it to commute a total of 55 miles round trip about twice a week to the college.

And if so, I've had the hardest time finding a blinker/tail light/mirror kit that will fit the 1983 year. I read some stuff about the baja designs one.

Can anyone give me a link to a kit that will for-sure work with this bike?

I've noticed theres no key to the bike.

3. How much on average do you think it would cost someone to install a kit for a mandatory key before I kickstart my engine.

I was looking on the right side and there's no compression release cable.

4. Is this going to be a problem? (cant seem to find CR cables on ebay for this year anyways.) From the research I've done so far, it's a good thing to have an active CR when starting a bike.

I'll be looking forward to the replies! Thanks guys!!!!!