Suspension tuning

Today my son and I were out getting to know how our bikes handle jumps. My son noticed my bike has a tendency to bounce upon landing. Not knowing the original owners weight/preference I dl'd the FSM .pdf and set everything back to stock. One thing that really got my attention.. the setting on the bottom of the forks, R side was 2 clicks out from stock, the L fork was 100% IN!!!!!!!!! :eek: I hope it was just a mistake he made. The bike felt fine to me but I have no reference.

I was going to set the rear sag but, how in the world do I access those jam nuts? I assume I have to remove the airbox? We ride in mostly sand so I was going to run 6mm preload.

Also, if I do still bounce, Which way do I adjust and what exactly?

TIA for helping a total noob! Help me out guys, I'd rather look a fool on here than in front of my son.:banana:

You can access the lock ring with a long screwdriver or punch, and a hammer.

Many turn the spring adjuster with the same aforementioned tools while some can get their little arms in and twist the spring from the bottom.

http://www.tootechracing.com/suspension_tips.htm is a good tutorial and here is one of the million youtube videos on sag adjusting:

Turning the spring UP loosens and gets you more sag.

Turning spring down, clockwise, stiffens and takes sag out.

• Like 1

About your bounce. I doubt if the compression setting is going to make a huge difference and it controls the rate at which the suspension compress when you land. The think that control the bounce is the rebound / speed your suspension de-compresses.

Go 2 clickers in on the top of your front forks and 2 clickers in on the bottom setting of the rear shock. Go in 2 at a time until you feel ok.

Sag controls the average height your bike will carry your weight - important but again not a great influence on your bounce.

• Like 1