carb-filter boot problem!

Hello, i'm a newb... I have 89 rm125, and a 97 rmx250... both powervalves and great bikes.... but both have the same problem, especially the 250: on the back of the carb, the lip that the boot is supposed to be clamped to is so insanely SMALL... and the boot is always falling off the carb and sucking in dirt:banghead: . I've thought about maybe deleting the air box and just going with a direct filter, but I'd still have the same problem of keeping it on there (besides, I like the box for possible mud spalshes)... It seems like there is a groove in the rubber boot that slips over the "lip" of the carb, but it still falls off after the easiest little ride... what is the secrete to keeping it on there. any help would be appreciated :banana:

Let me guess, the rubber boot is hard as a rock, right? If thats the case mihylo's heavy clamp will help and also you may want to use an exacta knife or a dremal tool with a sanding drum on it, and slowly trim a little at a time, all the way around the boot so it will slide on better. If you can find some wounder chemical to soften the rubber would be good to, but I have not found this miracle chemical that will work. You may also want to try a heat gun and then mash it around to help soften it up. I think I would try the heat gun first. Good luck.

Let me guess, the rubber boot is hard as a rock, right? If thats the case mihylo's heavy clamp will help and also you may want to use an exacta knife or a dremal tool with a sanding drum on it, and slowly trim a little at a time, all the way around the boot so it will slide on better. If you can find some wounder chemical to soften the rubber would be good to, but I have not found this miracle chemical that will work. You may also want to try a heat gun and then mash it around to help soften it up. I think I would try the heat gun first. Good luck.

CRC or wd40 softens them up. once you start you cant stop.