Slow DRZ

Hi all,

Not sure but my old account dissapeared so re-enrolled. Anyhow..

Got my S up and running but its so slow!! Gets up to 45-50mph ok but its a very long time to get to 60mph. Top speed is 63 so far!. Pretty rubbish. I use it for green lanes but do a lot of road miles to get to them. Top gear is next to useless.

Any recommendations to get some more oomph would be great.

Thanks

UWI

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Something is seriously wrong. Has it been modded in any way? What exhaust does it have, has it been rejetted? Has the 3 X 3 hole been cut in the airbox, has the airfilter been cleaned? are the brakes binding etc ect!

dan

I think the previous owner had changed some sprockets. No mods or changes. No 3x3 airbox.

It was slower and only got 55mph. I changed oil and air filters, stripped carb (filthy) and got it up to 63mph. What is the standard sprocket set up?

Im a newb to mechanics so learning as i go.

Thanks

UWI

15/44

If the gearing on a stock DRZ is changed to the point where it tops out at 63mph, the bottom end would be a bit nutters. You'd be able to tell. In the UK, does the DRZ come with any kind of a throttle stop or governement regulated modifications to make it "learner legal"? If it doesn't, than there is something wrong with the motor and I would start pulling the top end apart. If the carb was very dirty that shows that it wasn't maintained properly and there might be other more serious problems with the engine itself.

If it takes a while to get to 60 it is not a gearing problem unless you are revving it to the limit? I run 13/48 and have no problem with my bottom end! 14/48 is a popular compromise used over here, it depends on where you ride it and at what speed.

Does it start ok? Does it miss fire? Does it tick over? or does it just stuggle for power?

Does the carb open up fully on full throttle? are the cables ok? are all the vacuum tubes connected properly? Do the brakes bind?