Sign in to follow this  

Why doesn't Suzuki put inverted forks on S model?

So I am no professional but every dealership and review that I've read says inverted forks are much better for off road riding than the traditional forks that come on the S model. So my question is if this is true why would suzuki put the inverted fork on the SM and not the S?

For trail riding conventional forks are plenty capable, especially on a bike like the DRZ. The conventional fork is flexy and compliant and great for that slow speed bumpy stuff. There's nothing wrong with conventional forks on a trail bike and the set on the DRZ are really good.

When the speeds start getting up there the inherently stiff nature of the inverted fork becomes an advantage.

The ones on the SM have less travel. Probably since they were messing with the forks anyway those were easy and available.

The one bike I had with inverted forks whent eh seal went, it dumped ALL the oil out...

where as the bikes with conventional forks do retain some :banana:

not that it really makes much difference...just takes longer to empty the fork riding, when the seal has failed...

I have read that there is really no big advantage to USD forks. Conventional fork bikes carry a bit more unsprung weight. Just what I've read, I have an S.

Mike -

Hi Guys

I think USD forks are a fashion thing like Radial Brakes

At least at our level of riding:thumbsup:

You can't adjust the spring Preload on the SM forks which is a Royal PITA:foul:

Regards

Rick

I have read that there is really no big advantage to USD forks. Conventional fork bikes carry a bit more unsprung weight. Just what I've read, I have an S.

Mike -

The initial advantages of USD forks were an increase in surface area on the fork uppers where they clamp into the triple tree and less flex.

Unless you're racing motocross (which isnt the greatest idea on any DRZ), then there wont be much of a difference.