Sign in to follow this  

2009 400 XC-W New Bike Disappointment

I found a good deal recently on a new 2009 closeout 400 XC-W. I had read rave reviews on this bike and thought I would give one a try. I am new to KTM. I find the power not as potent as my baja-ized 1998 Honda XR400 and not as much fun as my woodsed-out 2005 Yamaha YZ 250.

I have not done anything to the bike but add some armor for the woods and cross country riding. Am I missing something like a magic set of "uncorking mods" like the Honda XR's and CRF's benefit from, you know, stuff the factory won't put in the owners manuals!

The build quality is superb and it does handle sweetly and feels much lighter than it is but the power seems anemic. I took out the end cap spark arrestor/grill out and it was a few decibels louder but ran like crap and popped and backfired on decel then eventually bogged down and stalled.I put it back in and was back to normal but still bogged down and stalled and was a pain to get started.

I am new to the "orange army" and want to believe!! Someone help me to become a believer!!

• Like 1

You need to richen up jetting.They are real lean from the factory and even leaner after doing pipe mod.The best bet is to get a jd jetting kit.If you dont want to buy one try going up one richer piolit (45 if the same stock jetting as 450) and richen needle up 2 pos.That will help a little but best bet is to get kit.After you get jetting right it will wake it up.It should run circules around your xr.

Also i think on that bike you should be able to change the mapping curve.Do a search or look in owners man.

FYI;sign up to ktmtalk.com alot better info on that site.