Ignition Spark theory questions...

What would be the typical symptoms (engine performance-wise) of a weak spark on a 2-stroke, say a CR125?

Or, does the spark really matter if the engine seems to crank easy and run quite well?

Likewise, are their performance advantages/disadvantages to having a stronger spark than normal?

NOTE: I'm an electronics engineering instructor and the electrical part of the engine is no problem for me (other than how that spark really relates to the engine side of things). I do find it a disappointment there are no voltage measurements noted in the service manual, only static resistance measurements. Resistance measurements sometimes don't reveal electrical problems, especially when high voltages are involved. I do have equipment that will allow me to measure voltages (even pulses and spikes) up to 50kV and feel--if this info was available--could make actual meaningful measurements while an engine was running. But, I do understand that most probably don't. Still, even most could measure voltages around the CDI and before the coil, I would hope.

The only symptom of a spark that is too weak is a failure to ignite the fuel mixture. This can manifest itself as a complete failure to start, intermittent misfiring, etc.

Spark that is too weak can fail to cross the gap at the spark plug for two main reasons. One is simple lack of voltage to jump the gap, and the other is because the electric charge is shunted across the insulator of the plug by some conductive deposit such as oil or metallic residue from engine oil or fuel additives.

In the latter case, it can become either a hard failure or an intermittent problem and is a matter of degree related mainly to four factors:

1. The voltage of the spark discharge
  2. The rise time of the spark discharge
  3. The conductivity of the fouling deposit
  4. The composition and design of the electrode