Powdercoating complete wheel...

So I know people have done this, haven't heard anyone chime in on how they lasted in the long run though.

What I'm planning to do to save on cost, (I'm a college student, working part time makin 8$ an hour lol!) is to get the entire rim powdercoated including hubs and spokes. Yes I'm aware it would be best to take them apart and do it, but I'm seriously limited on budget and the rims still turn out good when powdercoated completely assembled.

Which gets me to the question. What all would I have to mask off (or tell the powdercoaters to mask off). The inside of the hub, and the threads for the brake rotor anything else?

I'd love to see pics of rims that have been powdercoated this way too if you have any. :thumbsup:

you need to be able to tighten your spokes, so you cant powdercoat them.

it will look bad and be better off to take it apart.

pull the wheel apart and have it done propperly. then laceyour wheel back up the best you can and take it in to just have it trued. some bicycle shops can true it for you as well.

i pulled everything off to powder coat the rims and hubs, and regreased the wheel bearings while it was apart,also with my powder coaters they have all different kinds off plugs and threaded plugs to block off any holes, the powder coating on my bike really does look good

If your a college student working part time only making 8 $ an hour why in the hell would you want to waste money on painting a hub and some spokes? :S

If your a college student working part time only making 8 $ an hour why in the hell would you want to waste money on painting a hub and some spokes? :S

Because I love the look of black rims, and I love customizing the look of my 450. I have money, I can afford to pay 150$ for the powdercoating of the whole rims. Now say I take them apart, then I'm looking at a much higher cost to re-assemble and true etc. Not looking to spend that much. Going the cheap route.