Drz400sm conversion to motocross

I have been racing motocross for 6 years. I took a little break from it and decided to ride street so i purchased a 2009 drz400sm. Well over the past few months i have been thinking i want to race again. So i am going to convert my bike.

I have the conversion almost all the way done, I just need the rims from moto strano.

Has any one ever done this? Or will i be the first one. I do not care about weight, I have shaved about 30lbs off the bike so far.

The DRZ is not a motocross bike, and never will be. Of course you could use it as one but why would you?

If you raced for 6 years you should already know this.

I smell B.S. 30 pounds shaved off of YOU or the bike? I doubt someone who raced 6 years of MX would even consider converting a 2009 DRZ400SM to MX.

Well, I converted it to kick start, removed the battery and wires. I removed all the lights. I also shaved all the brackets off. So you can go weigh all of those parts and then get back to me =) I was just asking if anyone has ever done this. A simple yes or no answer and if they liked it or not.

i think you should change the forks , the sm are not made for jumps and if you took all that off i can see close to 30lbs loss hell the battery alone is close to 10 lbs

Well, I converted it to kick start, removed the battery and wires. I removed all the lights. I also shaved all the brackets off. So you can go weigh all of those parts and then get back to me =) I was just asking if anyone has ever done this. A simple yes or no answer and if they liked it or not.

Man i did Mine. I did like it for Enduro ride only. i also did the motocross field and its quite ok i can say besides motocross bike will suit better. Be careful not to end up cutting the frame links.

The bike is the same like yours. DRZ 400 sm 09 and convert to both ways.

I hope it helps what i wrote and the photos

Regards

MOTARD:

DSC00802.jpg

AND OFFROAD in a MOTOCROSS field:

DSC00244.jpg

DSC00222.jpg