Moving up from a ttr125

I've been riding for about six years now. My parents got me a ttr125le way back when it was the right size for me, but now im 5' 11" and weigh 205. I'd say I'm a decent rider, fairly comfortable with things but I'm not sure what bike I'd be able to handle or would be a good fit. I don't really care if it's two or four stroke, but it has to be green sticker for California which means 2002 or older unless it's something like the crfx or wr. I definitely want to buy used, don't have a lot of cash. I ride mostly trails and hills and stuff. Some tracks here and there but not a lot. I think I'd like to get into it though if I had a decent bike. I've ridden a ttr 225 and 250 before. I definitely want more than that but not a bike that is a total pig (super heavy). Any recommendations?

oh and if anyone wants a ttr let me know!

Edited by jlane

and im 17. sorry forgot to say

If i was you i would look into something like the CRF250X its a great trail bike. It might struggle with some hills against 450s, but will be way better than your ttr. Also the XR250 is a great bike just not as modern as the 250X. It might be a better choice for a smaller buget tho. It will cost less to buy and less to maintain.

does that bike have enough power to get around in the sand? i was thinking about doing some desert riding pretty soon

For the sand with 2 strokes, you want atleast a KDX200. I would go with a 250 mx bike or maybe a nice KTM XC/EXC 200. All of those bikes will be less then 220 pounds. Four strokes you will want a 250f (racing version) at the very least.

Yea if your doing sand then get a 250 2 stroke.

i've heard a lot of mixed stuff about 250 2 strokes though. can they do trails without having to rev like crazy?

yea they can easily do trails.

any suggestion for which brands from 2000-2002?

Look into a KDX 200/220:thumbsup: