Cycle World tests TE449

I received my January issue of Cycle World yesterday. They wrote a review of the TE449. They were not very impressed. I've been putting off buying a TE for three years now. I thought the TE449 was the answer. Almost makes me want to pick up a leftover TE450. :thumbsup:

Anybody read the test? Do you suppose the problems they mentioned can be fixed with a little tweaking?

Chuck

I received my January issue of Cycle World yesterday. They wrote a review of the TE449. They were not very impressed. I've been putting off buying a TE for three years now. I thought the TE449 was the answer. Almost makes me want to pick up a leftover TE450. :thumbsup:

Anybody read the test? Do you suppose the problems they mentioned can be fixed with a little tweaking?

Chuck

Have not seen it, what did they not like?

It was just a ride impression not a full test. They said it felt heavy and handled similar to a Honda XR 650. They liked the previous 450 better.

I should have brought the article to work and pasted it here. Sorry. As I recall, they said it pushed pretty bad and felt heavy. Suspension was real stiff. Bounced around a lot. Said it handled ok for a dual-purpose bike but not so much for an enduro racer.

I'm certain they TE can be tuned to any use you'd like, however I can't wait to weigh on on the same scale with a G450X, I'm pretty sure the HSQ will be a tad heavier unfortunately.

Yeah, not real good. They liked the motor but said it did not turn well. Hope that can be dialed out with some setup.

Yeah first rides are good to get a little info on a bike but you really never know until time is spent setting a bike up properly.

You can tune suspensions, and take a file to sharp edges on plastic, and buy a softer seat, and with enough cubic Euros/Dollars/Pounds, make the bike a bit lighter. But you can't fix this: