Sign in to follow this  

need to know reliability of 514 stroked kx450

hey guys newbie here,hoping you can help me out alittle....im looking at a 07 kxf450 that has been stroked and bored to 514cc.it appears to have benn done right,not alot of overbore stroker crank,head work ect.the bike looks flawless but what i am really concerned about is the longevity of something like this??am i going to be into this thing non stop or are they pretty reliable.i ride my own moto-x track some trail rides and some dune trips,but when i ride i do so very aggressively so reliability is a must..thank for looking

Who did the work? i would assume a motor like that would be good for 20 to 40 hours before the crank goes out. Depends alot on how its ridden.

well after talking to him again,i think his calculations were off,its a 95mm big bore and a 3mm stroker crank,which doing the math comes out to 461cc,not sure where he got the 514 from.i can get the bike for a steal,even if it was just a low hour 07 it would be worth what i can get it for

chances are its a deal cause its time for a rebuild..... click click click ... boom

Actually, that is a 471cc engine now. If the person that put it together knew what they were doing then the reliability shouldn't be horrible.

chances are its a deal cause its time for a rebuild..... click click click ... boom

it is the owner of a shops personal bike,he said he i can bring a bore-o-scope to look down the cylinder with and still see lack of any carbon and crosshatching that looks like a fresh bore.

i thimk it may be such a good deal do to the time of year and the economy,no-one is really looking for a dirt bike right now,especially in the mid west,and it is a buyers market

Actually, that is a 471cc engine now. If the person that put it together knew what they were doing then the reliability shouldn't be horrible.