Sign in to follow this  

shoei vs airoh

Personally, I would opt for the airoh, which is an acu gold certified helmet. This should be the equiv of ece2205 cert. Now when and if airoh and the acu goes to the five star rating system, and includes snell standards for the full five stars, then I'd prob opt for the shoei, because if I'm going to have to pick between two overly stiff snell rated helmets I want the cooler looking one. Now when shoei finally goes snell 2010 then if I had a small or xs sized noggin I'd be first in line to buy that shoei, since these sizes will see a change in construction that could limit g forces better, and be on par with ece specs. :thumbsup:

Caveat- acu has been criticized for selling stickers to mfg that don't conform to safety standards. It has been reported they have discontinued this practice to regain consumer confidence. Buyer beware..

I really dont know much about the Airoh. I have been wearing the Shoei VFX-W for two years now....and love it. I am a big Shoei fan....I also wear a Shoei RF1000 on the street. Maybe some TT members that have an Airoh will make some post about it......I would love to know about those helmets too......

You just answered your own question.Shoei. Like you said it is more comfortable and that is very important for the big bucks it cost. Comfort is everything.!

I have both, I just got the airoh stelt for $440 shipped dirtbike express on ebay. Both helmets are comfortable but the weight of the airoh is simply amazing, I just can't believe how light it is. I wear L in shoei, arai, agv and i got a L in airoh, it's fit is almost perfect, just a little tight but it is not broken in yet. I will probably always get an airoh in the future, already saving for the new aviator.