Sign in to follow this  

Used different pipe/silencer combos on YZ-250? I need your input, please.

Looking to compete the Blackjack Enduro Circuit in Arkansas this spring.

http://www.blackjackenduro.com/Default.aspx

I'll be running my 2001 YZ-250. Engine is stock except for Wiseco piston. Running a JD jet kit - 48/172.

I've been running the stock pipe and muffler since I got the bike 2 years ago, but they require a USFS-approved spark-arrester muffler, and my stock pipe is pretty banged up. So I'm in the market for a pipe/silencer.

The riding in Arkansas is mostly tight, hilly 1-track, with some semi-fast sections thrown in.

I run stock gearing (14/50). This gearing is pretty good for the type of riding I do, and I'm using 3rd gear most of the time, clicking into 2nd for little hill-climbs, etc. Rarely use 1st gear. So, I'm thinking about going a little taller on the gearing so I can use 1st and 2nd more, plus allow the bike to be a little more relaxed when traversing fire roads, etc. Maybe a 14/48, or even 15/50 (if a 15T front will fit...anybody know?).

Anyway, I have enjoyed the stock pipe/silencer. I think it has a pretty good combination of low/mid/top-end, but I think I might like a bit more low/mid (who doesn't, right!).

I've always liked the look of the Pro Circuit stuff. I was wondering who here has used Pro Circuit pipes and FMF pipes both? How did they compare to one another?

FMF Gnarly vs. Fatty vs. Pro Circuit?

Short silencer vs. long?

Any information is appreciated.

Thanks.

I myself picked up my pc platinum 2 header. And I may run the stock silencer or the pc shorty for my 07 yz250

But the gnarly is a bottom to mid pipe. I heard it pulls really hard in the bottom to mid but flattens on top. But that will definately make your bike more torquey. But like if tour doing long straights this pipe may not be for you. Also it has I think 18 gauge metal to reduce big dents when you wreck or get in rocky situations.