My gf and I are brand new to bikes, need to good, wide open place to learn

California

Hey guys

Up until 2 years ago I raced ATV MX in the pro-am class in CA and AZ. I moved close to the beach, didn't have enough room to work on stuff, so I sold everything. Couldn't stay away so I picked up a CRF450R earlier this week and want to get my girlfriend a TTR125 or something small she can learn on (she's never been on a dirt bike or any motorcycle before in her life). I'm also a rookie... not necessarily due to the 2 wheels, but due to the twist throttle. Going to take a bit to get used to that again!

My question is - I grew up riding in AZ and mostly on tracks. Here in CA with this whole red/green sticker thing I'm a little confused. I'm looking for a nice, mellow place that I can teach her to ride thats around Orange County area. My bike is obviously a red sticker, and hers will be a green. If there is a riding area that also allows camping that would be great too.

I checked out the 'where to ride' feature but most of the listings didn't have the info I'm looking for. If anyone can be of help I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!

Cal City has riding for all levels. You can also ride red sticker year around. Miles and miles of free camping also. :smirk:

El Mirage. Nice, big, flat lakebed and trails into the hilly areas. Don't wait for July...

Gorman - plenty of people on weekends (when it's open) so get there early. Gets pretty full of quadtards, but once you leave camp, it's usually fine. Watch for reverse riders on one-way trails :smirk:

Wildomar - inland, pretty area, small, out of the way. At two staging areas and a kid corral. Decent trails, not as open as Gorman or El Mirage. Can get crowded; show up early.

Hey now, easy with that quadtard talk. Did you read my whole post? :smirk:

Thanks a lot for the information so far! Anyone else with suggestions please chime in!