Sign in to follow this  

Replacing Swingarm/Linkage Bearings??

Hey guys, I figured I should probably replace the swingarm and shock linkage bearings on my 04 YZ 250 that I'm rebuilding after I took it apart and they are shot. (Working on bike in the middle of snowmobile race season *** am I doing ha ha) I've never done this before so any tips on doing this??

Thanks!!

Cody

Hey guys, I figured I should probably replace the swingarm and shock linkage bearings on my 04 YZ 250 that I'm rebuilding after I took it apart and they are shot. (Working on bike in the middle of snowmobile race season *** am I doing ha ha) I've never done this before so any tips on doing this??

Thanks!!

Cody

Get a manual and tear in bud... really not all that hard. Dont stress over it too much. Its probably a 1-2 hr job if youve never done it before. It can be done a little quicker once your familiar with the parts.

I had actually just done mine a couple weeks back on my 125. What you may have to do is use a press and the right size socket to get the old bearings out (i had to anyways). If you do this it helps to use a little heat on the linkage assembly to help loosen the bond with the bearings you are trying to press out and try not to use too much pressure or you may break something.

Even when you use your manual, make sure you focus on the order everything comes out. I lay the old parts out so i can use them as reference for how it goes back together (seal. spacer,needle bearings, for example) Take your time it isnt bad at all.