Sign in to follow this  

Problem with bark busters & renthals

I just put a new Renthal on my son's CRF150r. I don't know why they don't come with it! Anyway, I also got him a set of bark busters. The problem is, there's some kind of plug or something inside the throttle tube side. It seems like it's in there good. Looks like a red plastic something. I'm new at this stuff and before I do something dumb, I though I should ask the experts! Any takers?

TomJV

Oh, I forgot to mention, the PROBLEM is that I can't insert the hardware for the bark busters with that stuff in there!

TomJV

if its not the throttle tube then its probably a vibration damping plug in the bar... drill it out so your insert fits...

What is it, some kind of caulk?

Do you think it DOES anything? I mean, should I consider squirting some caulk in behind the hardware?

TomJv

I think its supposed to make the bars not vibrate as much, but I have some renthals on my 230 I drilled out seems the same but Im not a mx racer just a woods rider... Me personally I feel a bigger difference with the grips I choose

sorry for the slow reply, but honestly if your going to do the bark busters you have no choice...lol

Regarding your reply time, no prob! I've been at work for the last 24hr and away from my computer.

My main issue is, I've been reading Renthal's stuff and they are pretty clear that tampering with the product can lead to failure. My judgement tells me it's fine, but I want to make sure I'm not gonna hurt my kid.

I'm a woods rider too. I bought these bikes to get my boys into the sport while they're young. I wound up with the CRF R/X for the performance and we've been winding up at the tracks for convenience sake. There isn't much woods around anymore. I live for a couple of trips to ME where there are miles free marked legal trails.

I've been told MA is OK too, but this is another thead! (sorry, I'm in New York)

Thanks Again,

TomJV