Timekeeping questions for first enduro

California

I am going to be trying my first enduro next month (Gold Rush Family on Saturday and maybe Sunday too) and I have a couple of questions about timekeeping and some about equipment too.

First, let me say yes I have read the stuff online at 4t.com and other places and also the good stuff at posted at ridechec.com so I am pretty well read-up on the Internet stuff about it.

My goals:

I don't want to do the "just pick someone who looks like they know what they're doing and don't pass them your first time out" thing. I will do that as a "Plan B" if I get into it and my brain just starts hurting but I have a college degree in Math and I am a Math teacher so I think I can figure this thing out for cryin out loud (hopefully I won't end up eating those words. :smirk:) But, I am also realistic and know I won't be taking home any trophies, so I just want to enjoy the union of riding and the mental stimulation of the timekeeping and have a fun long 4-day weekend in the desert.

Timekeeping questions:

I've been studying the route sheet and roll chart from the Jan 15 family enduro posted on ridechec.com. When looking at that route sheet, I am assuming the only known checks are the start and the end, is that correct? So all of the checks will be unknown with the first possible one being at mile 3.0 on minute 14? And then they have to be spread out at least 3 miles apart from each other? What about "resets" and "free time"... do those somehow affect the "3 mile rule" about where unknowns can be placed?

Equipment questions: