Sign in to follow this  

Help Needed - Getting a '98 XR250R Back to Life

I just picked up 1998 XR250R for an outstanding price. The bike is a beauty on the outside for only $800, plus a Leatt brace thrown in.

Here are some pictures of the beast:

DSCI0043-1-1.jpg

DSCI0048-1.jpg

Now here's the list of problems:

The linkage is seized; hard as a rock. The front is opposite; very little resistance. (fixed)

The front brake rotor is warped. (fixed)

There was no oil in the bike. (Okay I'm a noob :smirk:)

There are spiders living inside the airbox. (fixed)

The rear needs a new tube.

The drive chain is poop. (fixed)

The throttle is seized. (fixed)

Those are problems that I'll be fine fixing on my own. The big problem is that the motor has little or no compression. The last owner claims it has been bored out to 300cc and has a white brothers cam. I can push the starter through easily with my hand. This is what I need help on. I've never dealt with a dead motor before. Where should I start? Also is there a service manual upload somewhere around here like there is in the 150/230 forum? Thanks everyone.

Edited by gabechroust

No oil in the bike.........The 400 engine is dry sump, oil stored in the frame. When the bike sits, the oil seeps into the crankcase, it is impossible to check the oil with the dipstick. To obtain an accurate check, the engine must be warmed up so that the oil is pumped back into the frame. Since it probably needs an oil change anyway, pull the drain plugs at the bottom of the frame downtube and at the bottom of the engine and see how much drains out.

• Like 1