Sign in to follow this  

New here, first bike, 03 YZ250F

Hi All,

I've been lurking for a few weeks while looking for a bike, great place. I'm 31 and the wife FINALLY gave me the OK to get a dirt bike..lol

I've ridden a dirt bike or motorcycle in general only once in my life about 12 years ago so I'm very new to this.

I picked up a 03 YZ250F, seems to be in good shape, guy before me took good care of it and didn't ride it much. Looks like it has upgraded suspension from LGS (place here in Toronto) and a couple "odd" non-stock things such as safety wire looped around the carb, red adjustment screw on the carb, weird bolt and nylock washer on the head, I have pics below. The guy told me the original this bike was from a guy on the film crew of Dirt Trax Television back in the day, couldn't find anything online so he could have just said that because of the sticker on the swing arm.

I've already done a few things like change the oil, oil filter, air filter, coolant, adjusted levers, suspension, etc. and it's running pretty good (in my driveway).

I took all the old peeling stickers off and ordered some normal looking Factory FX ones that I'll put on when they come in.

Here are some pics and I have questions for some of the pics.

DSC_0755.jpg

DSC_0753.jpg

DSC_0751.jpg

DSC_0745.jpg

DSC_0750.jpg

This is the tie wire, I assume this isn't stock?

DSC_0749.jpg

This is the red adjustment screw:

DSC_0748.jpg

This is what looks like a weird contraption of a Allen key bolt through a Nylock nut screwed into the head.....sure looks like something you can find at home depot, thoughts on the purpose?

DSC_0746.jpg

Well, that's it, looking forward to contributing to the site and learning along the way.

Jay