How big is your throttle deadzone?

I am a novice, only second year racing, but I think my problems have been coming from a throttle deadzone that isn't there...

Basically twice now I have had nasty nasty crashes because I have gotten tired and I can't stay off the gas of my cr125, and it just always feels like bike is taking me for a ride.

I'm just curious, do you experienced riders have a generous throttle deadzone, so that they know they won't accelerate?

It was a practice day today and while I was waiting for the guy to give me the go ahead, I noticed that my throttle was not sensitive, but no free movement? Is that normal?

With 125's you gotta be on the pipe all the time and yes the bike does wanna get away from you.

I've had to adapt quite a bit from my low-powered KX125 to the super over-powered 125SX.

Its funny you mention this, I was discussing this with my dad today and we talked about how my 125SX at 85% throttle is tame and only delivers 50% of the power. From 85% throttle to 100% throttle the thing takes off like a scalded cat being chased after by a dog and falling down stairs!!! The rush of speed is almost overwhelming and has caught me off guard as well.

SO...

The solution is; ya gotta pinch the ever living snot out of the bike and stay as far forward as you can, as much as you can. This way, when the thing gets unruly, you're not hanging off the tail, but locked onto the bike so it won't kick you off. I had some very hard knocks this weekend on my SX where it just wanted to go do its own thing and thats because I got tired and couldn't pinch anymore. Once you let your guard down, its all game for that little thing to buzz away without you on its back! :cheers: