Sign in to follow this  

Bike for a Beginner/Novice Desert Rider

It's about time for me to move up. I'm still a beginner, but I'm getting better and better. I've been riding for six years, and right now I have an 06 crf150f, and I want something I won't physically outgrow- I'm 5'11'' and 154 pounds. I don't have a lot of money to spend; under $2000 is my price range, and want something light and mechanically reliable. I ride the california desert, and especially like singletrack. I'm open to suggestions, but I think my best choices would be a kdx200/220, a crf230, or an xr 250r. Maybe a 125 2 stroke? I don't care about street legality.

Thanks, Nick

You cant go wrong with the kdx , of course pretty much newer the better. Better suspension and more nimble than the xr. A 125 mx 2t is not a very good single tracker. The kdx is lighter than the xr also.

You cant go wrong with the kdx , of course pretty much newer the better. Better suspension and more nimble than the xr. A 125 mx 2t is not a very good single tracker. The kdx is lighter than the xr also.

Thanks for the advice. Is the 200 better than the 220 for desert?

I vote 2 stroke 125...i just bought a 1997 YZ125 and it is just as fast as my 2007 kx250f. With that said i havent put so many hours on the yz125 but i was definately reminded why i love 2 strokes. Also if your riding the desert alot you'll have alot of high rpm long stretches probably which wears on a motor. It is alot easier and cheaper to maintain a 2 stroke in those conditions.

The 220 has lower compression and a smaller carb to help low end torque. its your call for the desert. Either way they are both better suited than a 125 for single track and sand/desert.

I must be a huge ***** or something...the only time i'd ever really want more power is on something like a well defined road or fire road.

I'd suggest a 125 two-stroke. It is light, easy to maintain, and it will accomodate you as you grow.