Noob with a YZ250F

Hi everyone, I'm new here and a total noob rider.

I recently decided I was going to finally get myself a motorcycle and hit the trails around here. I had never ridden a motorcycle before, but I had ridden lots of 4 wheelers around our ranch. I managed to snag myself a '04 YZ250F in pretty good condition for a only $1550 (seems to be a great deal for what others around here have been selling for!). A little maintenance (oil change, clean carb-it had been sitting a while, new chain and sprockets) and it starts right up!

I have a couple questions about how it runs though. First, if I get it going good and fast, then let off the throttle and slow down, it backfires (crackles?) a lot! I had figured this was normal, but I was reading somewhere on here and I came under the impression that it needed some mixture adjustment or something. Is this normal behavior?

Second is I noticed one of the first times I took it out I was running it kind of slow going up a little bumpy offroad incline in 2nd (I didn't want to give it too much power accidentally in 1st). I noticed what seemed to be the chain kind of making a knocking noise and the movement kind of chugging. Sort of like letting off the clutch in a car wrong and it kind of chuggs off... The bike seemed to have plenty of power available and it didn't sound like it was going to stall so I figured maybe I had the chain too loose or something. Is THIS normal? Now that I have a better feel for the bike, I don't really run it like that anymore but I'm just curious.

Third question is, is there any must-have accessories or things I should get? The bike is pretty much all stock ATM. I don't think I need much more power right now, she seems to have plenty in that department for me! I'm looking at a ProMoto Billet kickstand, a JD fuel mixture screw, and I need some sort of spark arrestor. I'm debating whether I should get the ProMoto billet endcap and possibly silencer, or get a FMF Q4.