Sign in to follow this  

any big guys ride 125s?

I am 6-0 200-205lbs depending on the day. I have an 04 yz250 and am thinking about getting a 125 for a second bike to keep from getting lazy and keep improving my skills with, but do not know if i'd be too heavy for the bike? Any advice or opinions on the topic would be great.

Thanks, Matt

Also thought about trying to find a 144,

you would be fine. it would teach you how to ride on the pipe for sure.

i weigh 180ish at 5'7 and i still ride a kx100 because i cant let it go yet, its the rider not the bike, you should definitely be able to ride one.....Oh! my dad is 5'9 and weighs 240 and he rides a rm125, he hauls ass on that thing. :cheers:

i may be your doppleganger. 511 / 200 -205 + gear, and i ride a 125 and a 144. i have been riding them on and off for a couple years now. so much fun. i actually race them in novice and intermediate classes. they teach you to carry momentum thru corners, pick better lines and clutch/shift work. at my level of riding, it's about rider skill, not horsepower and torque. i may be a few seconds per lap faster on a 450, but i get tired faster too. i can go harder, longer, on the 125's.

i don't know what the correlation is but i have been hurt more seriously on the 450's than the 125's too. maybe the weight difference?

you will be fine. my buddy is 6'0 probably around 190 and he says his 125 may be a little too much for him. it will definitely hold your weight.