Sign in to follow this  

my 1st 650R and want to get the most...

Just bought 01 650r and it was supposedly uncorked and jetted properly. I am not tech savvy...I change parts on my chevy truck, reattach parts on the bike when i crash and do routine maitnance, so i was thinking of bringing it the local shop for a once over. This is the first bike i spent more than 800 on so want it to be on point.

The bike is fast fast fast, but can or should a mechanic make sure that the right points right jets are there and adjusted right. Is that even the right way to say what i am asking? the guys said he installed the 175? he also at first said he did not change the point, but then when he gave me the left over parts including the jet kit he used he pointed to a part and said this is the factory needle?

also when i look in the exhaust i still see a screen or wall in what i think is the spark arrester screwed to the end of the exhaust. is that what this is? the hole saw drilled out piece thats part of the uncorking, is that on the other side of what I am looking at?

should i have mechanic look at the valves and timing chain?

the bike starts relatively easily, but obviously got to get the feel. about 10 kicks cold, three warm, and one if stop and re-start while riding. have to give a little little throttle once the it fires when the bike is cold.

thanks guys

Edited by eshanks
left something out

Sounds like a good bike. I recently bought one that was already all set up. I didn't take it to the shop, but just did some local rides to make sure everything was good. Worked through a couple problems and now I'm confident I've got a great bike. I will be doing a compression check as a base line. Also, sounds like you've got the starting sequence down. Mine is similar to yours.

• Like 1