Stock SM Carb performance?

Hi All,

I am very happy with my 6 months old new DRZ400SM.

I know the stock carb isn't great hence everyones jetting and FCR etc.

The bike is very crap at going slowly.

You basically can't drive slowly in 1st gear e.g. round a round-a-bout (traffic circle) without using the clutch. The bike sort of lunges as you crack the throttle open. Whereas by mates 400e is very smooth at low speed.

So, is that just how it is or should I be looking at some minor carb adjustments? I don't want to fiddle if that is just how the stock carb is!

Thanks in advance.

I have a stock brand new one as well and I feel the same way you do. The throttle and clutch feel way different than what Iam used to. I have been riding for 12 years and cant remember the last time I have ever stalled a bike and I have already stalled this one a few times. Iam hoping this is normal and will just take some getting used to.

Bryce , read up on the pair valve and solenoide removal , but more importantly get the 3x3 mod and rejet done . This is what is causing it to run like crap . The jetting from the factory is set to pass emission controls not to have fun on your new toy :thumbsup: . When I took my bike for it`s demo ride I didnt notice any of the surging and stumbling , but once I bought it , didnt I ! :bonk: It was a pig on and off the throttle and it surged all the time at constant throttle in the lower gears . This is something I didnt do when I took it for the demo as I was the first person to ride it once it was wet down and I used the mototune method for demo ride :cheers: . Once you open up the air intake and change the needle and jets you will notice an enormous amount of difference and it will run nearly as good as your mates "E" , but with the exhaust , cams , compression and carby the "SM" has , this will never quite be the same , greg :thumbsup:

you know you can spend $600 on a new carb but its still a DRZ.... not an RMZ...450 or 250. IMHO not worth $600.