Sign in to follow this  

2000 XR200R Burning lots of oil - top end?

Hi All,

I just picked up a mint 2000 XR200R for my wife.

Everything is perfect about it - no damage I could find at all. Unfortunately it burns a hell of a lot of oil. Went through about 250ml in about 3 hours of gentle riding. It all comes out the exhaust in a white cloud as you ride.

It starts first kick, has plenty of power and idles well.

I'm guessing it needs new piston rings?

Whats involved in a top end rebuild? Do I need to remove the engine from the bike or can it be done in place? Any special tools?

Can a mechanically minded average joe like myself pull it off?

I'm pretty new to the bike scene, need all the help I can get. Thanks in advance!

-Josh

Not a difficult job, and the engine must be removed from the chassis. Most likely cause of the oil consumption is failed valve seals, part of the Honda Gasket Kit A. If you do a compression test before tear down you will have a better understanding of the cause of oil consumption. Harbor Freight sells a kit (about $25) with an adapter small enough for the spark plug hole. Engine should be warm, unbolt the compression release cable anchor on the cylinder head (just above the spark plug, pull the plug and lay it on the cylinder head in its boot (grounded to protect the coil), and hold the throttle wide open. Kick over the engine until the gauge quits rising. Add a teaspoon of oil thru the plug hole and repeat. The oil seals the rings and will raise the pressure if they are worn, little or no increase in pressure with oil indicates valves are leaking. Honda says 190psi but the engines will still run very good with 160psi.

Items and Tools Needed in addition to metric hand tools:

Honda shop manual, 81-83 XR200R will work, or any 86-02. I also have a Clymer and the IMO the Honda manual is better. However the 82 manual that I have has a wrong torque value for the flywheel bolt. Available on eBay.