Using the Rear Brake

Hi Guys,

I have just got a KX100 (2 Stroke) and I realized I hardly ever use the rear brake!

When and how should I use it?

Thanks and ATB

James

Every time you come in to a turn, more braking power means you can come in harder. At least you aren't struggling with using the front brake, I used to never use the front brake.

Every time you come in to a turn, more braking power means you can come in harder. At least you aren't struggling with using the front brake, I used to never use the front brake.

I use the front brake to slow down instead of the front brake, I just feel more confident using the front brake.

Should I start to use the back brake more?

Thanks

Glad this came up. I am new to dirt riding. I've spent most of my time on sportbikes doing trackdays and some roadracing. I'm ALL about the front brake. This weekend was my 4th ride on my bike. I was thinking I should ask for some advice on when to use which brake and such. Guess I need to start thinking about using the rear more.

Use both brakes coming in to the corner, along with your engine rpm's to slow you down, meaning don't pull the clutch, and learn how to not lock up your rear brake to keep the bike running.

use more front brake, and use back brake to tap when your front end starts rising in mid air over jumps

I use both. Front brake to keep me straight when coming hard to the turn and the rear brake to add help to the slow down. On the front first and brake tap or steady until I get to what I need to. I'm on a 2t also and don't have the 4t engine brake but sometimes use the gears to slow me down (the chatter of the chain).

Sure, you can manage fine with only the front, but you will never be as fast as using both. You should try to use front, rear, and engine braking all to your advantage if you want to be as fast and controlled as you can.

I havent went to a track yet on my cr 125 but i just realized i have used my front brake like twice since i got it haha