Sign in to follow this  

KDX, YZ or Something Else

I live and ride in the Reno area where most of the terrain is loose gravel and packed sand. The elevation at most riding areas is 4,800+ feet. I’ve only been riding for about half of a season on a WR426f. I found this bike to be very top heavy and am looking for something more agile. I have no other riding experience and feel like the power of a 450f makes it easy to be a sloppy rider. I’m looking for a bike that would be more balance that I could learn the fundamentals on. After doing some research I was pretty set on a KDX 200, I liked the smooth power and 6 speed. After looking for a few months I'm not sure. I having trouble finding one and when I do they have been either beat up or $2000+. Now I'm thinking about going with a YZ125 or YZ250 and maybe adding a flywheel weight to make it more trail friendly. I’m 5’10 185 lbs. What kind of bike makes the most sense for me?

I have a yz250 and a kx125, my brother has a kdx200. I don't think the 125 will have nearly the bottom end power your used to. The KDX200 has awesome bottom end power but lacks some up top. The 6 speed will probally be good for your type of riding. By my house its tight woods and I rarely use it. My YZ250 with a 11oz flywheel weight has great power all over. The thing really pulls. I would look for a yz250. I picked up my 03 worked for 1500.

Thanks for the input.

How would a ktm 200 or gasgas 200 fit in with this group? I'm thinking they are more then I want to spend but if they would a better fit I may step up price wise.

also ......... not what your asking about but ....... try a YZ tank on your WR, they are a lot narrower