Sign in to follow this  

KDX220 questions

Greetings, I am a newbie to trail riding.

Live in the PNW and ride in Tillamook state forest.

I bought a 2004 KDX220R basically in stock configuration.

Have been out riding about 4 times now and have found it to be the most fun on 2 wheels i've had in a long time.

WIth fun comes responsibilities with regards to maintaining a bike. I suck at this as i just didn't grow up in a society where people work on their own machines. My home country is not one known for garage culture with people barely owning the most basic of tools, if that.

I am hoping to learn how to maintain my own bike and to keep it in ready to shred state.

A few questions::

1> First good crash on the first time out bent the factory 7/8 bar out of whack and since then it has become worse.

I bought a Pro Taper Controur (high bend) fat bar to install in its stead.

I have the bar mounts for the fat bar, they are rubber based. Are there any better ones to look for? I have heard that even thought he fat bars might not bend these rubber mounts might actually bend themselves. I plan on using them for the time being however since i have them on hand.

2> As for the bark busters that I have currently mounted on the 7/8 bar:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=190513853261&viewitem=#ht_3061wt_1165

I can't seem to identify these so i can get a pro taper mount kit for these bark busters.

Alternatively, do you guys suggest any non-cycra triple tree hard mount bark busters in its stead?

3> are triple tree mount bark busters better of handlebar mounted ones?

4> I am also looking for a set of radiator guards. ANy recommendations will be most welcome. The MSR racing is currently out of stock nearly every place i have tried. ANy other that is worht looking into?

On a side note, I further resorted to getting a thumper talk skid plate as the ricochet and msr ones didn't have protection for the water pump section.