Sign in to follow this  

Seizing a Two Stroke

Recently I heard of a guy seizing his cr 80 just by engine braking in high gear. I've been considering a kdx 200 or a wr 250 (the 90s yamaha) recently, and this worries me. I have zero experience with 2T engines, having only ridden air cooled four strokes. Are there any other ways I can seize or otherwise damage a two stroke engine besides revving too high for extended periods of time?

Thanks.

No oil in tranny...no premix oil...overheating...coasting...poor jetting...and on and on....

• Like 1

I should have been more specific. Even with the correct fluids and proper jetting are they any other ways I can seize a motor?

Edited by Nick Merrell
misspelling

I should have been more specific. Even with the correct fluids and proper jetting are they any other ways I can seize a motor?

Revving it hard too early without allowing it to warm up first.

Once piston and/rings go beyond their wear tolerances, it can cause damage. Not allowing the engine to warm up properly can cause a cold seizure, especially if you run a forged piston. Air leaks can cause it to run hotter and possibly seize it up.

No oil in tranny...no premix oil...overheating...coasting...poor jetting...and on and on....

how does costing seize the engine?

I honestly dont know.

when you are coasting the engine is spining at the same speed as it was to get there. the difference is that when you are getting to speed or holdong your speed you are on the gas. because a 2 storke gets its piston, crank, and connecting rod lubricated from the oil in the gas you can seize the engine do to lack of lubrication.

when you are coasting the engine is spining at the same speed as it was to get there. the difference is that when you are getting to speed or holdong your speed you are on the gas. because a 2 storke gets its piston, crank, and connecting rod lubricated from the oil in the gas you can seize the engine do to lack of lubrication.