[[Template core/global/plugins/realFaviconGenerator does not exist. This theme may be out of date. Run the support tool in the AdminCP to restore the default theme.]] Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

DRZ400SM seems lacking in power

I'm fairly new to the SM scene and I've only had my DRZ for about 6 months. In that time I've made some small additions and just started getting the feel of the bike. I'm fairly comfortable on it but I just keep thinking that it doesn't have the power that it should have.

Now I know that these things are low in the HP department but I keep seeing videos of people clutching up their stockers in 3rd gear and I can't get my decently modded one to come up an inch in 3rd. My bike has the athena BB kit, fcr carb, and mrd jetted to Eddie's specs. From what I gather it ought to be tough to keep the front end down.

It pulls up under power in first and second with ease if I find the sweet spot and clutching up in 1st is almost dangerous. 2nd gear clutch ups are easy when I don't wuss out but I can get it up quite easy. 3rd gear won't do squat. I have tried all throughout the rev range and have pulled the clutch in and basically gone WOT and dumped it and get nothing. I've properly adjusted/cleaned/lubed my chain and the sprockets and chain are in great shape with not too many miles on them.

Is there something that I'm missing here? Maybe I am expecting way too much but it seems others with less bike are getting a lot more out of their DRZ's. I apologize for the long post and I appreciate any input anyone can provide.

I'm fairly new to the SM scene and I've only had my DRZ for about 6 months. In that time I've made some small additions and just started getting the feel of the bike. I'm fairly comfortable on it but I just keep thinking that it doesn't have the power that it should have.